

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

John A. Krings, President
John Benbow, Jr.
Troy Bier
Larry Davis
Katie Medina
Kathi Stebbins-Hintz
Julie Timm

December 11, 2023

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING OPEN SESSION

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

Conference Room A/B

TIME: Immediately Following Regular Board of Education Meeting

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: John Benbow, Troy Bier, Larry Davis, John Krings, Katie Medina, Kathi Stebbins-

Hintz, Julie Timm

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Craig Broeren

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Troy Bier to move into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. §19.85(1)(c) for the purpose of reviewing individual administrator job performance evaluation information and to perform the Board's annual evaluation of the Superintendent's job performance; to consider individual administrator contract renewals/extensions and administrator compensation and benefit information; appointment of an individual for summer school programming administrator oversight; and consideration of an administrator resignation request. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by John Benbow to move into open session at 9:59 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier to approve the extension of administrator contracts through June 30, 2026 for the following administrators, with the understanding that administrative assignment changes could occur during the term of the contract due to budgetary decisions made:

Edwin Allison Steven Hepp Ronald Rasmussen Elizabeth Van Berkel Amberell Applebee Julie Kolarik **Paul Rheinschmidt** Tina Wallner Phillip Bickelhaupt Tina Miller Kelly Schaeffer Kelly Zywicki **Nicole Calteux Christine Slattery** Aaron Nelson **Roxanne Filtz** William Oswald Nicholas Sydorowicz **Tracy Ginter Brian Oswall** Steven Thayer

Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Troy Bier, seconded by Katie Medina to approve of the extension of the administrator contract for Jennifer Wilhorn through June 30, 2026 at 0.60 FTE with the understanding that administrative assignment changes could occur during the term of the contract due to budgetary decisions made. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Julie Timm to approve of a wage increase of 6% for all administrators for the 2023-24 school year, except Craig Broeren, retroactive to July 1, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Julie Timm, seconded by Larry Davis to approve the extension of Superintendent Craig Broeren's administrator contract through June 30, 2026, and to include an additional one-year contract extension to June 30, 2027. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Troy Bier, seconded by Larry Davis to approve of a wage increase for Superintendent Craig Broeren of 6% for the 2023-24 school year, retroactive to July 1, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier to approve of a reduction in Elizabeth Messerli's current administrator contract from 220 days to 200 days, and to accept her resignation request as Director of Food Services effective June 10, 2024. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Katie Medina, seconded by Julie Timm to approve the appointment of Leslie Anderson to fulfill administrative summer school duties effective January 1, 2024 for a flexible period of time as needed to administer and provide overall oversight to the program, with compensation in the form of a \$7,000 stipend which will be paid at 50% (\$3,500) in June to cover January-June duties; and 50% (\$3,500) in July to cover July-December duties. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings adjourned the meeting at 10:05 p.m.

John A. Krings – President

Maurine Hodgson – Secretary

Larry Davis - Clerk